Berlin Berlin Berlin!

img_2417

After many months spent living in Deutschland, I finally made it to the country’s capital: Berlin! Matt had 2 volleyball games last weekend, and I wasn’t about to miss them. It has been so much fun traveling around and watching him play.

Berlin is so different from Munich. If comparing these two cities to California, if Munich is Brentwood, then Berlin is Venice Beach. Seriously. It is very alternative, hip, and young. I haven’t seen a dread or pink hair in Munich, but those were everywhere in Berlin. It was nice to change it up for a weekend. I might have had to cling to my bag a little tighter than usual on Berlin subways compared to Munich’s, but hey it is all part of the traveling experience.

I stayed at a hotel in Potsdamer Platz for two nights and explored during the day. At night, I would take trams, subways, and trains to watch the volleyball games. It was also FREEZING. Like 20 degrees. Walking was a big part of my experience in Berlin, and I found myself thinking how enjoyable this city would be in the warm summer or spring. Nevertheless, I still got to do and see all of the fun Berlin sights.

I would very much recommend:

-East Side Gallery.

A portion of the Berlin Wall dedicated to colorful murals.

img_7730

img_7732

-Checkpoint Charlie.

Where the border patrol was between East and West Berlin.

img_2381

img_2374

img_2372

-Topography of Terrors Museum.

img_2368

img_2369

-Potsdamer Platz.

-Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe.

Yes, it’s a heavy name, but this labyrinth pays tribute to all who lost their lives in the Holocaust.

img_7673

img_2385

-Brandenburg Tor

img_2419

img_2393

-Reichstag Building

The government building where nation’s officials meet. You need an advance reservation to enter.

img_2423

img_2427

-Museum Island

A whole little island in the city dedicated to 5 cool museums. I visited the Pergamon Museum. 

img_2408

-Berlin Cathedral

img_7725

img_7723

-Eat currywurst at Curry 36!

Leave a Reply

