Austrian Adventures: Wandering in Innsbruck

If you’re ranking Austrian cities or reading any tips on this amazing country, I would guess that Innsbruck would not make it to the top first or second place. Vienna and Salzburg are highly regarded as the most popular Austrian cities to travel. I traveled to Innsbruck about 3 weeks ago to find it to be the most picturesque, quintessential winter wonderland. Colorful houses line the river, Old Town houses some of the cutest buildings, and the food was delicious (apfelstrudel!!!!). Although my day was partly spent watching Matt play in a preseason volleyball game, my other time wandering around Innsbruck was enough time to catch the vibe and atmosphere of this city sitting pretty below the Austrian Alps.

I stayed in Hotel Mondschein, an adorable little accommodation right on the edge of the river. The line of colorful houses are enough to make anyone book a trip to Innsbruck right away. When I checked in, the man at the desk said, “It’s cute right?” referring to the city. That’s really the only word to describe this little town.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Before arriving at my hotel, I walked through Old Town from the bus station. I saw the famous Golden Roof, ate pasta carbonara, and snapped a few photos of the gorgeous architecture surrounding Maria-Theresien Strasse, the main street to visit whilst in Innsbruck.

If you are going to do one thing in Innsbruck, I would recommend climbing the steps to the top of the Stadtturm (Town Tower). It provides an amazing view of the Austrian Alps and the entire city of Innsbruck. The cool wind hitting my face and the warm wool of my jacket hugging my neck was one of those ultimate travel moments where immense joy hits you out of nowhere. Yes, I was right where I was supposed to be.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

My trip to Innsbruck spanned only one day and night in early October. I’ve heard Innsbruck in the winter is a whole other story with its ski jumps illuminating the skyline through the Alps and the city dipped in white powdery snow.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Leave a Reply

